In 1807, Preveza passed under Ali Pasha’s of Ioannina rule. It was then when the Uc Kale (uc: edge, end in Turkish) or Pantokratoras Castle, named after the church of the same name which previously existed there, was erected following the designs of the French colonel F. F. Guillaume de Vaudoncourt.
It was built to allow complete control of both the open sea and the mouth of the gulf. The main part of the fort, the form of which is an almost regular rectangular, with high perimetric walls, consists of buttresses, a seaside rampart, a dry moat to the south and one filled with water to the north. The main gate is situated to the north side and was accessible through the water moat.