Castle of Parga

11/12/2015

After two demolitions, the castle of Parga was rebuilt by the Venetians in 1792. Thanks to its natural fortification and its perfect design, it remained impregnable until 1819 despite the attacks upon it chiefly by Ali Pasha of Ioannina (1788-1822).
After the sale of Parga to the Turks, Ali Pasha fortified it even more and even set up his harem and hamam bath at the top, thus reshaping entirely the area of the fortified enclosure.
Go top