Church of the Virgin’s Assumption

11/12/2015

In the old castle of Rogon located on the 58th km. Of the National Road Preveza – Ioannina, wooded hill, we find the Monastery of the Virgin Rogon. This castle, built during Roman times and then repaired during the Byzantine period (between 1436-1691), was finally destroyed during the Turkish occupation. Here was the remarkable city of the Middle Ages “Rogo”. From the medieval city today nothing remains.
In church we come from steep path. Distinguished ruins of cells and loggia. The single-nave church, consisting of the narthex, universal and sacred, was painted. Minimum illuminated from the west. There inscription renewing of 1609 or 1687.
Next to the entrance there is a plaque that read:
“IN NO Old MONASTERY AND EPISKOPI Rogon ARCHIERATEFSE 1820 – 1826 The ETHNOMARTYRAS JOSEPH SPOUDAIOTATAS PROSENEGKON SERVICE IN THE HOMELAND AND MESOLONGIO AGONISTHEIS THYSIASTHEIS 13.4.1826.”

Go top