Built on the edge of the plain of Karya, in a idyllic hillside is the monastery of St. John the Baptist, known locally as “St. John in the Meadow”. Founded in 1605 and for a period of three centuries played an important role in economic and cultural life of the island. In the early 19th century, the monastery of St. John was the richest and most populous in Lefkada, while already since the 18th century, the Monastery of Odigitria and fifteen other churches on the island had become shareholders.In the ledger, according to tradition, was buried in 1622 the famous Simos armatole Bush or Grivas. The present church is younger, single-nave, with wooden roof and loft. It has exceptional frescoes dating from 1736 to 1753. On the northern wall murals preserved in three zones.In the first full-length saints, middle stitharia saints and more scenes with large, worn by time. To the west distinguished Agios Konstantinos, Agia Eleni and Archangel Michael. Next to the church of the monastery, in dense vegetation, there is the ruined chapel of St. Nicholas.